Webinar Series: Simultaneous Thermal Analysis (STA)

Simultaneous Thermal Analysis (STA) is a well-established analytical method that generally refers to the simultaneous application of Thermogravimetry (TGA) and Differential Thermal Analysis (DTA) or Differential Scanning Calorimetry (DSC) to a single sample in the same instrument. The DTA/DSC signal shows caloric effects due to mass loss or gain and structural phase transformations where there is usually no mass loss.

Modern, state-of-the art STA instruments offer high flexibility, user-friendly software and a wide operating temperature range spanning −150…2400 °C ensuring almost any material can be covered.  Another advantage compared to stand-alone TGA instruments is the possibility of measuring samples with significantly larger volume and mass. Sample sizes approaching 5ml and several grams are possible allowing detection of tiny effects in the ppm range.

Part 1: STA Measuring Principle and Instrumentation

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

In the first part of the webinar series, we will discuss the measuring principles used in Simultaneous Thermal Analysis (DTA, DSC, TGA) and the different material properties that can be measured.
We will introduce NETZSCH’s state-of-the-art STA instrumentation and show a series of application examples from different fields including building materials, polymers, batteries and pharmaceuticals.

Session 1:
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM CET / 
4:00 AM - 5:00 AM EST
Register now

Session 2:
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM CET /
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM EST
Register now

Part 2: Thermal Analysis under Humid Atmosphere

Thursday, March 4, 2021

The characterization of sample properties under defined humid atmospheres represents a special field in thermal analysis. A variety of materials shows property changes as soon as they are exposed to humidity or humid atmospheres. These include, for example, the corrosion of metallic components or the expansion or water absorption of polymers.
In this presentation, the meaning of the term “humidity” will be discussed in detail and application examples will be shown.

Session 1:
9:00 AM - 10:00 AM CET / 
3:00 AM - 4:00 AM EST
Register now

Session 2:
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM CET /
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM EST
Register now

Part 3: Maximum Temperature Measurements Using Simultaneous Thermal Analysis

Thursday, March 18, 2021

 

Tips for Selecting Measurement Parameters, Measuring Atmospheres, Crucibles, Furnaces and Sensors
Applications of high melting point ceramics or metals are extremely divers like, for example, in the fields of aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, automotive engineering, power plant technology, electronics or renewable energies. For the characterization and development of such materials, Thermal Analysis is often the method of choice, and here in particular, Dilatometry, LFA, TGA and DSC/DTA. In this presentation, focus will be on TGA-DTA.
High and highest temperature measurements pose a great challenge to the measurement technology and materials selection of crucibles, furnaces and measurement sensors. Above 1700°C, almost “everything reacts with everything”.
In this webinar, tips on how to choose the appropriate measurement parameters, measurement atmospheres, crucibles, furnaces and sensors will be given, illustrated by means of examples.

Session 1:
9:00 AM - 10:00 AM CET / 
4:00 AM - 5:00 AM EDT
Register now

Session 2:
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM CET /
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM EDT
Register now